info needed

Lesley M.
on 7/6/04 4:55 am - atco, nj
hi this is my first time posting a message. my medical doctor is out on maternity leave, before she left i told her that i wanted to get the wls. she said that she would support me. i don't know where to start. does the process start with your medical doctor or the surgeon. i dont know how to find a surgeon who takes my insurance. my mind is made up, and i am ready to start the process. any information will help. thank you, lesley
Wendy P.
on 7/6/04 7:01 am - Wharton, NJ
Lesley... This is a huge step you are making...I am SO proud of you!!! There is much research to be done, not only on the surgery but on a surgeon as well. When I started the process, I initially went to my PCP who wasn't very supportive and gave me the name of a surgeon who wasn't even in my plan. I knew at that point that I was on my own from that point. I found my surgeon actually by word of mouth. Luckily, with my insurance, I didn't need to have a referral...THANK GOD!!! I went to 2 seminars for 2 different surgeons and made my decision from there. You have to like your doctor...that is SO important, I cannot even stress to you how much!! I don't know what insurance you have, so I can't tell you what you need to do. You may have to speak with whichever doctor will be covering for yours in order to get the ball rolling as far a finding a surgeon. I can tell you, I don't know where you live, but I used Dr. Schmidt in Hackensack (It was a ride for me...but SO worth it!!). I LOVE HIM! He is absolutely fantastic. If you have any other questions, please feel free to contact me anytime. I would love to help you in any way that I can. Good Luck with your journey! Wendy
Susan Hegarty
on 7/6/04 2:52 pm - Easton, PA