Newbie here

Missy L.
on 6/18/04 10:49 pm - New York, NY
Hi, I am new to this board and to this way of life. I have met with Dr. Cappella of Ramsey NJ and scheduled surgery for a VGB. I am so overwhelmed right now, I do not know what to think. I am so nervous that I am making a mistake - and that I will regret this. I am so scared of the surgery and complications. I am scared that I will never be able to eat anything I like again. I am scared that I will be vomiting up whatever I eat for the rest of my life. I am having some second thoughts. I am doing this for me - becasue I want to live my life instead of living vicariously through others. My Dr. says that I am a good candidate - 30 years old, nonsmoker, nondrinker, no real medical problems - just high cholestorol. I guess I just need some reassurance from people who have gone through this surgery. I have roughly 100 pounds to lose. Lastly, I am also concerned with hanging skin - I admit i am vain - and getting the weight off is obviously the priority - but does everyone get that - and is there anything I can do to prevent it? I know I am rambling - but as I said before I am reallly overwhelmed by everything. BTW, has anyone had Dr Cappella as a surgeon? Thank you for reading this very long message - I feel a little better just by typing it out.
Kathy S.
on 6/18/04 11:18 pm - Rio Grande, NJ
Meredith I just had my surgery 11 days ago and felt the same way you did. I am 20 years older than you and wish this procedure was available then. You are young and your medical problems will come along. I said I was the healthest fat person around, but when I hit 50 that change. Your joints, back, feet take a toil when you are heavy. This is a wonderful site to get information to make a sound decision, Go to the support group in your area and just listen. You need to communicate with other people who have had the surgery. Just read read read. Everything will work out Kathy
Dawn H.
on 6/19/04 10:34 am - Jersey CIty, NJ