Desperate need of a doctor that will except Medicaid.

alicia H.
on 3/20/04 4:01 am - perth amboy, nj
I am a resident of Perth Amboy, NJ . I am in desperate need of a doctor that will except Medicaid for the gastric bypass surgery. I feel like I'm beating my head against a wall. Every doctor that I have talked to has stopped taking Medicaid or will be very soon. If any one knows of a doctor in New Jersey. that will except Medicaid, your help would be greatly apreciated. P.S I will travel anywhere in NJ.
lorien
on 3/20/04 7:06 am - morris county, nj
If memory serves me correctly, there was a gal at my support group who had Medicaid. I believe she used Dr. Garth Ballantyne out of Hackensack Hospital (which by coincidence was my doc, and I LOVED him). Give him a call. Good luck. Linda
Joisey_Girl
on 3/20/04 8:07 am - NJ
Hi Alicia, Last week I telephoned NJ Bariatrics, PC in Monmouth Junction and was advised they "only take Medicare". Not sure of the difference between Medicare and Medicaid, but have you called this surgeon's office?
Nannette
on 3/20/04 11:22 am - Toms River, NJ
Although not in NJ, they are in Staten Island, not far from you in Perth Amboy -- United Surgical Associates - 718 226 1300 -- I believe they take Medicaid and Medicare. Check them out -- They were my surgeons (McMullen, Coppa) and are great. Good luck.
Barbara G.
on 3/21/04 12:05 am - Hainesport, NJ