Why did you pick your type of surgery?

Fancy4684
on 11/16/10 11:21 am
Hello All,

I just started the process and i am talking a lot of time reading through all of the blogs. I was just wonder if you all out there could take a little time and tell me what type of surgery to picked and why? I have read all the facts I just want to know what were the deciding factors for you and if you had to do again would you pick the same procedure?

Thanks ! 

Luvmy3dobermans
on 11/16/10 10:28 pm - NJ
I picked the laproscopic gastric bypass (RNY).  I am told by both my surgeon, Dr. Noyan and my primary doctor that the lapband would not be the correct fit for me since I am 5'3 and weigh 289 lbs!!  I would do the whole process  all over again if I had too.  This surgery is so important to me so I can live a better life, have quality of life and to meet the new me!!  Good luck, the members here give some pretty sound advise!!
bubblesrn
on 11/16/10 10:41 pm
I'm a bariatric nurse who works in a hospital with THE surgeons.  After working on the bariatric unit at my facility for 3 years, I knew I needed helped.  I was 333 pounds and 5'7" and as a nurse, I should not be shelling out advice when I can't even listen to myself.  After going back and forth between the bypass and the band, my surgeons and I finally came to the conclusion to pick the band.  Here is the thing, at the time I was 25 years old, had not had a child yet, just newly married, and I see my surgeons everyday!  So, if the band had failed me, they always gave me the option to switch to the bypass.  But, little did I know, my surgeons knew me better than I knew myself and they always knew I would do great with the band and that I am an over achiever!  But I always tell my patients that whatever you choose, it is like your religion.  You have to be comfortable with your choice and if you have any doubts, speak to your surgeon and or family with it.  I know you've done all your research but also look closely at your surgeon,