Has anyone had surgery from Dr. Earl Noyan out of Centra State?

Luvmy3dobermans
on 11/16/10 1:22 am - NJ

Hello,
I am new to the WLS world.  I am very excited to have it.  I have chosen the RNY gastric bypass. Both my medical doctor and Dr. Noyan concur that this is the procedure for me since I am 5'3 and weighing in at a staggering 288 pounds.  I have chosen Dr. Noyan that operates out of Centra State and Robert Wood Johnson-Hamilton. I am eager to find out who has gone to Dr. Noyan and what their experiences were/are.   Can anyone give me any helpful hints or words of advise?  I have so many questions that I cant seem to think of them now.  If anyone can give me any comments I am sure they will be much appreciated!!  Please give a new gal a hand!

ls

Alice P.
on 11/16/10 5:06 am
I did not use that doctor but I did have RNY on 2/17/10-  my pre op weight was 278, I'm 5 ft 6 and I now weigh 165lbs and am still loosing.  Would be happy to answer any questions for you.  I have not had any real complications and tolerate food well post op.

Alice

HW 278 SW 259 GW 170 CW 142 Ht 5ft 6

Luvmy3dobermans
on 11/16/10 8:57 am - NJ
All I hear from people is omg, your having "gastric bypass"??  All I hear is horror stories.  I never seem to hear of any success stories.  Did you have support from "everyone" you know?  I know this is the right decision for me but their stories scare me.  Not scare me to have me change my mind but just put a seed of doubt there.  I really dont know how to combat the negativity Any suggestions?  Thank you for your input, I really appreciate it!
Nannette
on 11/16/10 10:50 pm - Toms River, NJ
Congrats on your decision; however, one caveat -- check out Dr Noyan's complication record -- there are a couple of patients in our support group who have had him and every single one has had some complication -- some more serious than others.  There are plenty of other surgeons with better records.

Don't mean to alarm -- just be informed......

Nannette