HELP ME [email protected]

lilcaddy
on 1/26/10 4:22 am - NJ
VSG on 01/04/10 with
I'm an attorney and have never heard of employers working out exclusions with their health insurers. To cut costs!!!! Not to say this doesn't happen, I probably should not be too surprised -- but I should think it would be the other way around. I had BC/BS through the Feds and then BC/BS of NJ for a while but found it covered only NJ physicians and hospitals -- not for me.  If you believe that your policy does not cover even the lap band (and I'm no expert, just guessing it might be the least costly procedure), I advise first going through the policy online word by word, do not take anyone's word for this, it is a contract after all -- looking for procedures under the numbers they use and whether there are co-morbidities or not.  And perhaps, as a last resort, if you don't wish to self-pay, you might think of carrying different insurance for a couple of months, insurance that would definitely cover your WLS and be a lot cheaper. Good luck.
LilCaddy
ebonyfigueroa
on 2/13/10 8:48 am
THANKS IM LOOKIN INTO BUYING A NEW PLANTODAY 
snedly318
on 1/30/10 2:39 pm - Mine Hill, NJ
I know for a fact that some employers, when pushed, remove - temporarily- exclusion to WLS in policies.  I have a friend who had the RNY because of his wife's persistance with her employer (a large pharma co).  Her hubby had severe diabetes and they basically fought the exclusion saying that the RNY was a whole lot cheaper to the company than ongoing care for severe diabetes and it's complications.  They covered the surgery.  Big companies can be compromised with...sometimes.