Pre-Op Diet Dr. Abkin

surrender44
on 2/12/09 3:25 am - union, NJ
Hey NJF, newbie here with a question.  For those of us who will have our surgery with Dr. Abkin did you have a liquid diet two weeks in advance from surgery?  I know he did not specifically(sp) put me on a ban just said try not to gain anymore weightThanks in advance
I pray to always remember newbies
After the rain comes the rainbows
w ww.myspace.com/ultranay

hockeymom8016
on 2/12/09 9:11 pm - NJ
You have a great doctor! I liked Dr. A when I met him. I had his partner, Dr. Bertha (who is awesome) and I believe it would be the same. When I went for my consult, Dr. Bertha told me they do not routinely put people on a 2 week liquid diet.  He did caution me against the "last supper syndrome" and putting on weight. When I went to my pre-op class the NP did say that people who had put on a lot of weight may have to do a two week liquid diet before surgery.  I had lost weight before surgery so I had nothing to worry about with in that regard.  I did have to do liquids the day before and a "clean out" but that was it.  Good luck to you. 

surrender44
on 2/12/09 11:34 pm - union, NJ
Thanks.  I am awaiting approval and since 1/22 my consult date I have gained 3 poundsI am looking foward to pre-op class. 

Tom C.
on 2/13/09 12:07 am - Mount Arlington, NJ

I had my Realize band operation done last year.

PRIOR to the operation, they will strongly suggest to not "eat out of control" or "diet" in order to make the operation a little easier.

Remember a few weeks prior to the operation they will take vital at will be important to "calculate" your anesthesia (among other things).

A day or two before the operation they will tell you to be on a liquid diet. And the night before the operation you will stop eating around 7:00 p.m. and NO LIQUIDS OR SOLIDS until AFTER the operation. Even if you brush your teeth, you cannot have water.