Considering revision from band to bypass...

(deactivated member)
on 11/16/08 11:11 am - NJ
Hi all...I am 1 year post op with the lap band and am down 57 lbs..I have had multiple problems with the band, nothing life threatening but the problems have really caused my success to be limited....I am discussing a revision to gastric bypass (which I probably should have had first considering the amount of weight I need to lose) but I am petrified. I have been researching the bypass surgery for about 4 months now and think I'm ready to move forward but I'm still fighting off the reservations and I think most of them are just from fear.....I was wondering if any of the people here that have had bypass would mind sharing some of the problems, if any, they faced with the bypass...I think the band is a wonderful tool so I"m not bashing it at all but I think the band and I just aren't the right combination for this journey.....
I appreciate any feed back I can get......
Thanks so much!!
Lorraine
hockeymom8016
on 11/16/08 9:30 pm - NJ
(Knocking wood).  I have had no problems with my RNY and am thrilled with it.  I have already lost 144 pounds.  That being said there are some people who have had problems.  Melting Momma is one person off the top of my head who has had issues.  That being said any of the surgeries carries a certain amount of risk.  Have you investigated the DS?  If not, I would suggest that you look into the DS before you have a second surgery.  There is a DS forum on this site.  You want to make sure you know all the facts before you make your choice.  Look at the surgeries and then think about which one best fits your eating habits and what you may or may not want to change.

DrMichaelSakowitz
on 11/16/08 11:44 pm
I've seen many patients do very well with the second operation.  Since you have been through surgery for weight loss already your expectations will be more appropriate now.  Good luck, remember go to support groups and start to exercise! 

Dr Mike