Lap Band With Dr. Joya

tarastarisme
on 12/2/05 12:31 pm - Tomball, TX
Hi everyone! I'm new here, but I have been considering lap band surgery for almost 2 years now. I am trying to secure a surgery date with Dr. Joya on January 23rd. (thats when I will have the money) Gerald emailed me with info on how to give them a 1000 deposit into a Bank of America account or something like that. Is that normal? Did anyone else do that? I don't want to lose my 1000 dollars, ya know? Also, can anyone tell me their experiences with Dr. Joya? Thanks! ~Tara
tiemann
on 12/2/05 8:47 pm - MD
Tara, I'm not using the same Doctor as you. But it's not uncommon to send a deposit. I had to send a $ 500.00 deposit to Dr. Aceves. Basically that is holding your surgery date in place. I go on the 9th of December for my Lap-Band. Good luck with your upcoming surgery and Happy Holidays. Donna T
tarastarisme
on 12/3/05 8:24 am - Tomball, TX
Thanks for your response! I just wanted to make sure before I hand over some money. Good luck with your surgery, its only a few days away! Tara
lmsmith
on 12/3/05 6:55 am - Burnaby, Canada
That is his typical policy. It ensures that your date is booked. I had to do the same thing. I will be having RNY with Dr Joya on Dec. 16th. Day 2 of my liquid diet and counting. Leanne
tarastarisme
on 12/3/05 8:34 am - Tomball, TX
Hi Leanne- I'm glad to hear that is typical. I was only sort of concerned because I heard something about some other website/company/booking agent/whatever called belighter.com that supposedly some people went through and they couldnt get their money back or lost it or something. I didn't go through them but I just wanted to hear from someone else that they did/are doing the same thing as me, ya know? Good luck with your surgery coming up! When you are feeling better please post about your experience with Dr. Joya wow, you have to be on a liquid diet for a while... i'm sorry. It's worth it though! Tara
Cook_RN
on 12/4/05 9:43 am - Batesville, MS