GRADUATE RESEARCH: WLS Surgery

Kelli ~.
on 11/29/05 3:33 am - Atwater, CA
My name is Kelli Flores. I am a pre-op for lapband surgery, and I am also a graduate student at CSU Stanislaus in California. I am interested in doing my thesis on WLS and it's affect on self-esteem, self-efficacy and self-worth both in Pre-Op and Post-Op patients. This study has yet to be approved, I am just looking to see if there is a general interest from this forum. I'd like to hear from those that have had RNY and Lapband would think this would be a worthy endeavor. I would like to have participants from United States (though you could have the surgery in Mexico) preferbly since if I included other countries it would be a challenging task to mail out questionnaires. Those whom are doing the surgery in the US and Mx is okay, since I will be having surgery done in Mexico. I will have more on the study as I formulate it together and after it passes through our university board for research. I'm guessing I could have questionnaires ready by mid-spring/summer time. Right now, I'd just like some feedback from everyone here on the forum. Please feel free to make some suggestions as it's better to have many minds than just one Thanks! Kelli Flores pre-op lapband Jan 27, 2006 Dr. Aceves
Cheri Moran
on 11/29/05 11:14 am - Big Spring, TX
I think that would be an excellent thesis. I think the results would be very interesting. I'm amazed at the difference in my level of self esteem. I'm not sure I realized how low mine had gotten. Another interesting idea is the difference in the way people act toward someone that is a normal size versus someone that is obese. The last time we were going through an airport, I noticed people would smile and acknowledge me now that I'm a size 8 where when I was a 3X that acted like I was invisible. I wish you luck on your endeavor. I hope this is approved as I think the information would be valuable. Cheri
bonnied
on 11/29/05 6:53 pm - St. Albans, VT