What is your take?

Jenny C.
on 8/9/05 3:47 am - Ridgecrest, CA
I have been fighting with my insurance company for 9 months now. I hired an attorney after the first denial and have recieved 2 more denials since then. Right now there is a request with my employer since Aetna is self funded. I have become quite discouraged and have been experiencing severe bouts of depression because of the embarassment of being overweight and because of the arthitis in my back and sleep apnea does not allow me to sleep well. Now the reason for this post. What helped you come to the decision in choosing your surgeon in Mexico? I have researched Dr Aguirre and Dr Rumbaut, both sound extremely qualified and experienced in performing RNY. I would prefer Lap however would consider open if needed. The lap band is not for me, I am a grazer and have a sweet tooth. What is your take on this? I have heard great thing about both surgeons from you all. How did you finance the surgery?
DW
on 8/9/05 4:06 am - Galveston, TX
Hi Jennifer, I would finance my surgery anyway I could, I would refinance my house or borrow/beg from relatives if I had too. I got money from one of my credit cards and I would do it again. I went to Dr Aguirre and could not have had a better experience. My scar from the open RNY is so thin that you can barely see it. I have submitted pictures of my scar at 17 months post op, just waiting on the volunteers to post them on my profile. There are several great doctors in Mexico, I choose Dr Aguirre because of the successes of his patients. I am now planning on a TT from Dr Fuentes (I had a consultation with him at Dr A's reunion in Las Vegas) I had several previous surgeries and felt that open was best option for me. I now feel like a million bucks, sometimes I forget that I even had wls. Good Luck Dot
Jenny C.
on 8/9/05 4:24 am - Ridgecrest, CA