How do you deal with the negative views of others re:WLS and/or Mexico?

bonnied
on 5/18/05 6:51 am - St. Albans, VT
I am having a hard time with everyone in my life about this decision! I am a nurse and my co-workers very freely express their views and opinions! Also, my friends say stupid things like "I had to do it the hard way. You can too." and "you can't have surgery, I'll be the only fat one left!" I am sick and tired of defending myself! Now that I made the mistake of talking about it, I can't get them to shut up about it, they offer their opinions even though I don't ask for them! One of my husbands co-workers brought him in an article from some magazine like People, telling how dangerous it is! It's awful funny that if we told this same co-worker I was getting breast implants, he'd be like "Cool, when?" and he certainly wouldn't be showing my husband articles about complications and death rates (that were completely inaccurate by the way!). Why do some people freak out like this! I could understand if they were truly worried about me, but they're not. They seem to be more worried on the impact MY weight loss has on THEIR life! Anyone encountering the same problem? ANy sugfgestions on shutting these people up? Simply saying, "please don't give me your opinion, or I don't want to hear any more" IS NOT WORKING! Help!!!!!!!!
GerrAnn
on 5/18/05 8:11 am - Lake Havasu City/Boise, Id, AZ