Blue threads sticking out of incision

KrisInAL
on 3/17/05 11:43 pm - Bessemer, AL
I have had several blue threads that have popped out of my incision site. It really irritates the skin. One pulled right out when I touched it. But, I have another that doesn't pull out easily, so I decided just to cut it flush with my skin. But, my skin is really irritated there. Has anyone else had this problem?
Melissa M.
on 3/18/05 12:02 am - Weatherford, TX
You need to get the stitches out. Don't cut them off. If you can't do it yourself, then you need to go to a doctor & get them out. They will continue to irritate the skin & can lead to infection at the site. I have had several abdominal surgeries, and I am a nurse. Unfortunately I have not had the surgery I most want yet. Feel free to email me if you have any questions. Melissa Massey
tamara_b73
on 3/18/05 12:09 am - wisconsin dells, wi
I have one thread that is poking through. I assume that it is from the internal stitches. I tried to pull it out but it was attached so I just left it alone. I was going to ask the doctor about it when I go in on Monday for my 6 week checkup. It hasn't irritated my skin at all though. Don't know what to tell you otherwise. Sorry, Tamara
Molly Mae
on 3/18/05 12:22 am - WA
Hey Kris, I had two of these pesky little guys! One of them just came right off when I was washing it and the other held on for a few weeks. It finally came off one day and was only about 1/16th of an inch long once it came undone. It was quiet disconcerting to me too. Show it to your pcp. I just kept mine flush with the skin and it came out. Good luck to you!!! Molly 252/202/135
Debbie L
on 3/18/05 1:02 am - Western, Pa
I also had a stitch that came to the surface of my incision. I just kept the area clean and put antibiotic ointment on it (took about a 2 weeks but it finally fell out). It would probably be best to have your doctor look at it just to be sure it's not infected.
chunkable
on 3/18/05 1:14 am - federal way, wa