Questions...questions...

Melissa M.
on 2/16/05 2:50 pm - UT
First, I'll start out with my possible surgery date. I'm waiting to hear from Rosella. If everything goes as I'm trying to get planned, I'll be having my surgery on March 18th. I'm also waiting to hear on my funding. I should hear about that next week, perhaps sooner. Anyway some questions. I was talking to Tami on the phone today and she mentioned something about the pain medication the Dr. said she should get after surgery in Mexico. She said it didn't really work very well. Does anyone know what they have you get/take for pain after surgery? I'm a wimp when it comes to pain. I currently take Lortab nearly daily just to function. I have severe back pain. I try to only take it once a day when I have to go to work. Also has anyone had a problem with the epidural? Do they always give you an epidural? How long do they suggest that you stay off work? I'm a nurse, but in my job I pass meds for like 2 hours and sit most of the rest of the night. How long do you have to wear the binder? How long are you not supposed to lift anything? I'm thinking I'm really going to have to be careful, because my baby will want to be held. Back to medications. I've come across some posts talking about meds that you can/can't take after surgery. Does the Dr. give you a list of things that you can/can't take? If not, how do you know what you can/can't take? Sorry I'm just starting to think of all these things. On the vitamins, do you have to take liquid or the pill type? I've also heard a lot of people post about carb countdown this and that. What is carb countdown? I'm so happy to think that I'll be having surgery next month and also scared to death at the same time. Ok, enough questions for now. Oh wait, one more. How close are the grocery stores from the apartments? Thanks for reading my post. BTW - it was great talking to you on the phone today Tami. Sorry my stupid cell cut out around the mountain. Hope to meet you in person