Hi to all. I'm new to the South of the Border Forum, but I've got a date!

Jody W.
on 10/24/04 8:16 am - Noble, OK
My husband and I will be heading to Ensenada on the 13th of December for my surgery on the 14th. We are self-pay and financed a portion of the costs. I'm still in shock that this is happening so fast, but I liken this experience to bungy-jumping. If you have too long to think about it, you're more likely to back out. I'm still struggling with thoughts like: I shouldn't be spending this much money on myself; and, I should just try one more time to lose this weight on a diet (this would be around the 400th diet I've tried.) I know all the arguments for doing this, and I REALLY want to do it. But I'm still struggling with fear and guilt. Maybe that will all be gone when I can see my feet for the first time in 20 years! Dr. Aguirre's daughter, Rosella, has been wonderful, even though I'm sure I've made a pest of myself. Dr. Aguirre just let me know that he could do the surgery even though I have a hiatal hernia, and that's so exciting to me. I'd love a little encouragement right about now. And I need your prayers as I have just been hired (last week) for a new job as an administrative RN, and I start tomorrow. I have to go in and tell my new boss that I'm taking a few weeks off in December, (over Christmas no less), and I'm not too sure I'll still have the job by the end of the day. How did the rest of you handle the fear of death, and/or the huge change in lifestyle coming at you? I'd love to hear from you all. And thanks for your previous posts which helped me make this decision in the first place. Jody (a misplaced Mainer in Oklahoma.)
mary R.
on 10/24/04 8:25 am - Shady Side, md