I can't decide on RNY or DS surgery. Please help

Robin J.
on 8/4/04 6:23 am - St. Louis, mo
I am 40 years old mother of 5 ages 5-22 years. I am a nurse. I have sleep apnea, reflux, major depression,pain in knees and pain in lower back. High cholesterol and a family history (mother, father, sister and 2 brothers) of Heart attack, stroke, type 2 diabetes,high BP. I will probably have to do self pay becuase of my husbands policy has a very specific exclusion for obesity and morbid obesity treatment and surgery. Anyhow I am trying to come up with the funds to do this. What is the difference in cost, recovery and long term success with these 2 surgeries. I would probably want to try doing laproscopic if possible becuase I need to get back to work ASAP. If you had or are having the surgery, why did you pick the type that you picked? Thanks for your suggestions Robin Green
Sandy N.
on 8/4/04 12:40 pm - GA