I chose a Doctor! " Lopez,". Wilhemly and Alverez were on my short list of...

alt1985
on 12/15/14 2:09 am

Hey! Thanks for the quick response! No. Those are actually my initials. I'm being paranoid about my username because I really don't plan on telling anyone about my surgery. :) I'm from the Tampa Bay area, Florida. 

I've told my husband, one friend knows who's had lap band surgery and I told my best friend and received a pretty negative response from her in regard to getting surgery done period.. and especially to getting it done in Mexico. That was disheartening and hurtful, but it just further solidifies my decision to keep it private.

I haven't yet decided on a surgeon or a hospital or anything really. I've watched a million YouTube videos (give or take a few thousand) and read a million stories from bariatric patients. So, I'm just beginning to navigate this process. 

I've tried so many diets. Paid thousands of dollars in personal training. Worked out (hardcore) for two hours every morning, five days per week, with very little results.. SO.. here I am. 

My stats: 5'7" 232 pounds

I once went to a weight loss doctor trying to get on prescription weight loss pills, but my EKG came up with a red flag. I never got it checked out by a cardiologist. (That was several years ago.) So... I'm thinking I need to look into getting another EKG now and having a cardiologist take a look at it before I schedule with a surgeon.

I'd love to get it done the week of spring break so my hubby can take his week's vacation to watch our two kids. And then I would travel alone for the surgery. But... I don't know if that's a good idea or not. I'm really trying to navigate this and feeling pretty alone. However, I will say that my husband is 110% supportive and my greatest advocate and will do anything for me. He's behind me and supports whatever I choose. He's just concerned about me going alone and I am too.