2 years out---Progress Pictures!!! Thank you Dr. Quinones!!!

zmdh39
on 11/10/14 7:22 am

It is hard for me to even put into words how amazing this journey has been for me. I wasn't always overweight, for a large portion of my life I was extremely fit, toned, and athletic. This was me from the time I was in 6th grade through my senior year of high school, at the end of my graduating year I weighed 140 lbs.

My freshman year of college my dad had been battling health issues that put him out of work, so in addition to taking 19 credit hours a semester, I also worked 2 jobs...one that the college that I attended, and another as a Bartender/Waitress to help pay the bills back home.   In just a few months of my freshman year of college, I went from weighing 140 lbs to 210 lbs...it amazed me, how quick I had put on that much weight.   When I was a sophomore in college, my dad was finally approved for his disability, so I was able to cut back on my work hour and focus more on trying to lose the weight. So I join the ROTC program at my college with the intentions of commissioning to the Army. Despite the daily PT sessions, the 5 mile ruck sack runs, and going through the ROTC bootcamp at Fort Knox, the lowest weight I was ever able to achieve was 160 lbs.   After boot camp, I was informed that I would not be allowed to commission, due to a prior injury that I had received, so knowing that  joining the Army was no longer an option, I dropped ROTC, and took on extra work shifts because my family was still struggling back home. For the next few years my weight yo-yoed, right up until I got pregnant with my son in 2010. After having him I hit my highest weight ever 235 lbs...I was so ashamed of my weight that refused to take photos, I have no pregnancy photos because of this, and very few pictures with me and my son from the time he was born right up until I had surgery in 2012, this was me at my highest weight.   As of October 5th of this year I have been officially 2 years ou