VSG With Dr Ponce. Trouble Getting Life Insurance. PLEASE READ

jax0601
on 6/6/13 1:35 pm - NV

Hello. I had a VSG with Dr. ponce De Leon in July 2012. All​ went well with the Dr., but I have had. a MAJOR issue that I want  prospective patients to be aware of.

In  December 2012, five months post VSG, I started the process of applying for life insurance. I contacted TRISH, Dr. Ponce's coordinator. She knew quite well that I am a Registered Nurse, and told me she would try to help me get copies of my VSG surgical notes AND hospital notes.  Many life insurance companies require this information. 

In the beginning, Trish seemed like she would assist me in getting this MUCH NEEDED information. Before long she started blowing me off. Shortly after that she ceased all correspondence with me. It has been 7 months and I still have been unsuccessful in getting any records. My Primary Care Dr. And several life insurance companies have also requested records . When they contact Dr. Ponce's office, they are told they have reached a "SPA". When stated that they are trying to reach the Dr. , they are given the phone number for Trish.  Trish will not return any calls to my  Dr or the insurance companies, and many written requests for records go unanswered.

With with the above being said, to this day I still have not been able to get life insurance. I really hope that Trish sees the grief she has caused me and I want to express how disappointed  I am in her. You know it's one thing if she cannot assist me in getting these notes, than she needs to be professional and let me know that.

I sure wish Dr. Ponce spoke English and that we could correspond directly with him. It is unfortunate that patients are treated this way.

Marianne

Mary C.
on 6/7/13 1:15 am - Glovertown, Canada