Hello, I'm new here

vikkilynn
on 9/2/10 11:58 am
Hello, I am new here.  I am just beginning to explore the option of having gastric bypass surgery in Mexico.    My insurance will not cover anything related to weight,  and I have found that it is so much cheaper to travel to Mexico to have this procedure done.

I'm not sure where to begin, or how to find a surgeon.  Could anyone give a newbie like me some advice?

Thanks
greenbaygirl
on 9/2/10 6:50 pm - Hobart, WI
Research, research, research!  Ask lots of questions of others who have been down this road, and after all of that, be confident in your decision.  I would encourage you to re-think the bypass surgery for the sleeve, but that's just me.  Research the DS also.  Private message anyone whom you have read on this site that you would like to ask more questions of, and I am certain they will be glad to help you out and answer anything.  We have all been where you are now, and are grateful to the many people who helped us!

Goodluck!

Jean

randerson
on 9/3/10 9:03 am
RNY on 09/25/08 with
 I would definitely recommend to do a research online of all the doctors and their credentials. It helped me a lot to go to the doctor's website and take a good look! Take your time as I did, I think I made the best choice possible, my surgery was a success and financially it was a wise choice, because like you my insurance didn't cover my surgery.
Hope that this road takes you to a better and healthier you!
Good luck!!!

Margo N.
on 9/3/10 2:59 pm
Research! Good luck in your journey! My experiences with my surgeon and pre and post op are on my blog.
Margo - Burnaby, British Columbia HW 283 / SW 269 / GW 160 (I'm 5'8")
Check out my blog at http://www.vsggoodlife.com/

nicole M.
on 9/3/10 4:01 pm - Trenton, MI
RNY on 11/03/10 with