Too fat for surgery. Frick!

kimatlast
on 9/14/09 8:40 am
I wonder if many of you know what it is to be the fattest person in a room (or a forum?) full of fat people. I guess I've done Weigh****chers about 6 times, and each time I was the biggest person in the group. Went to OA three times, same thing. Recently I went to a bariatric surgery seminar,and there was only one person out of a sea of fat people that was bigger than me. I have no idea how I got to weigh 410 pounds. That's crazy. I'm smart, I have a good job, a good church,  a house (it's kind of a hovel, but still) and people that love me and people that I love. I'm a talented photographer and a cat lover and an avid reader. I'm a fully functional human being. In most ways. How did it ever get to this point? I'm so humiliated.

Anyway, I'm set for surgery with Dr Almanza in Mexico on Oct 27.I'm getting the VSG. One of his staff called me today and said the doctor had reviewed my record and my BMI is too high for comfort. Said I must start on the ultra-strict (3 protein drinks and some lettuce per day) pre-op diet *tommorrow* and do it for the ensuing 6 weeks until surgery.I have to call them weekly with my weights. They didn't give me a number I have to get to, but they were adamant that I should start IMMEDIATELY! I said I would. I was planning on doing it for 2 or 3 weeks, anyway.

The thing is, the VSG is touted as a "very good option for the super-obese, and it can be done laprascopically on people up to 500 pounds." That's why I picked it. I wasn't expecting  to hear that among the super-obese I am too fat. I'm so tired of this.

I am going to start tomorrow, and I'll do my best,  and we'll see what happens. Just for fun I'm including the link to my Flickr photo stream. If you're bored, have a look.I think they show that I am more than a pathetic, out-of-contol compulsive overeater. Thanks! Kim

http://www.flickr.com/photos/sammycatstudio/

wannabhealthy45
on 9/14/09 9:04 am - Canada