DS in Mexico?

Daez
on 6/8/09 1:01 am
Hello, Mexico forum! 

I'm a bit of a newbie here on OH (been lurking for a few weeks on some of the other boards, but only registered yesterday), though this is my first visit to these forums; I recently learned about the idea of surgery abroad, and due to my lack of insurance I just can't afford to do the procedure in the states.

I've only just begun my search into all of this, but it was recommended by several of the gals in the livejournal WLS community that I come check you folks out and see if there was any information I could get! 

Anyway, thanks for your time, and thank you in advance for any thoughts or advice you may have. :) 

spittman
on 6/8/09 6:52 am - Reston, VA
VSG on 06/29/09 with
Hello,

Out of all the research I did for surgery outside US I found 3 doctors that I liked. Dr. Joya, Dr. Acevedes and Dr. Pompa Gonzales. I choose Gonzales.

Check out the different doctors and read the patients review. I emailed some doctors in MX. and they would just send an email back saying   "surgery is $12K let me know when you want to come in". They didn't even ask how much I weighed,didn't choose them.

On a funding note:  you can apply for surgical loans right  from the website of the doctor you choose. Make sure that they are aware that the surgery is outside US. There is also Lending Club. This is a much cheaper interest rate and you can pay back in 36 months.

I hope this helps.
sunnidayrain
on 6/9/09 10:03 am - TX

The DSfacts.com website lists the reputable doctors that perform the DS in the US and abroad. If they arent listed there then they do not perform the DS. Dr. Ungson in Mexico is listed on the dsfacts website and there are several people that have used him on the DS forum.  HTH

Ami

Adoptive mom to 3 children with Fetal Alcohol Spectrum Disorders     
kerr
on 6/10/09 12:25 am