Lots o' Advice Needed

(deactivated member)
on 2/5/09 2:58 am - TN
I am a 27 year old female who weighs 347 pounds. I have no health issues other than sleep apnea and depression. I am considering weight loss surgery in Mexico. I hadn't really considered having the surgery due to the costs associated with the procedures in the USA. My friend recently pointed out that having the surgery completed in Mexico is a safe alternative.

With that said, I'm a worry wart. I am a researcher at heart and have been trying to research like mad to understand the procedures themselves and the doctors that have been mentioned here.

Can anyone offer me any advice or point me in the right direction in choosing a specific bariatric surgery and/or surgeon? 

So far, I only know that I don't want the lap band. I have considered the VSG, but I feel like I am steering away from it. I like the weight loss results of the gastric bypass and the duodenal switch.

Is American really safer, when it comes to having surgery in comparison, to Mexico? Is there any need to be concerned about flying so soon after surgery?

Does anyone have any concrete evidence, journal articles, etc., that outline risks?

Is there some sort of governing body or organization for this type of surgery in Mexico? 

I'm basically looking for anything! 
liveinphx
on 2/6/09 9:59 am - Phoenix, AZ

You may want to post your questions on each of the boards such as VSG, DS etc. On each of the boards you will generally find folks who have had the surgery both in the US and other countries primarily MX.
I had my sleeve done in MX and got better care than I ever had in the US. My surgeon came to see me at least 3 times everyday I was there.

Whatever you do is it truthful, necessary and kind?
Kelly2323
on 2/6/09 1:24 pm - Anchorage, AK
RNY on 11/21/08 with