Looking into the Lap surgery in Mexico

iammelissa
on 4/7/08 3:45 am - federal way, WA
Hello, I'm new here.  I'm 35 and am 284 lbs 5'3. I work as a social worker in Child Welfare. I have 4 biological children and adopted 3 from foster care, so as you can imagine I've not been one to take care of myself!   I'm looking into surgery in Mexico and at first I thought my husband would say no way, but it looks like he is going to support me in this!. I was doing research, I'm sure I haven't done enough  yet, but Dr.Ortiz's office looked like a good choice.   I am nervous about the expense!  Also, I have trouble thinking about spending that kind of money on myself!!    Any tips to help me make up my mind. Melissa
Zena L.
on 4/7/08 5:09 am
Are you looking to get the lap band or the laporoscopic RNY? I also work in Child Welfare...what a job!
iammelissa
on 4/7/08 5:57 am - federal way, WA
The Lap, much less invasive!
sperk
on 4/7/08 6:36 am - moorhead, MN
VSG on 02/01/08 with
Before you pick having the lap band do a lot of research on it. Go read the lap band board then go read the sleeve board. I was all for the lap band till I found out about the sleeve. You will have a life time baby sitting job with the lap band you will not with the sleeve. That is only one of the great points on having the sleeve over the lap band. The $2000 you save in having the lap band done over having the sleeve done you will spend way more down the road having your band filled and unfilled and maybe have compilations with it slipping and so on. Just give it a lot of research and good luck with everything.  If you have any questions feel free to ask anything.
iammelissa
on 4/9/08 2:53 am - federal way, WA
Sperk, how much have you lost?
sperk
on 4/9/08 8:25 am - moorhead, MN
VSG on 02/01/08 with
I am down 56lbs so far.
iammelissa
on 4/10/08 4:58 am - federal way, WA