Recent Posts

Patricia R.
on 7/29/09 2:55 am - Perry, MI
Topic: RE: Grateful Post (Filling in for Ramon)
Today I am grateful for:

My sobriety and weight loss surgery.

My kids, granddaughter and soon-to-be-born grandson.

My jobs.

My dog.

My family.

My freedom to travel to Michigan to help my daughter as she prepares for the birth of her second child.

Seek always to do some good, somewhere. Every man has to seek in his own way to realize his true worth. You must give some time to your fellow man. For remember, you don't live in a world all your own. Your brothers are here too.
Albert Schweitzer

Patricia R.
on 7/29/09 1:42 am - Perry, MI
Topic: RE: My DAD is making things worse....
I was once where you are.  My three kids are all grown now.  I earned my bachelors in education after I had them.  It took a lot of work, but I also had their father in the picture at that time, and he and I traded off the child care responsibilities while we were in college together.  It was not till my divorce, and the youngest started college, that I pursued my Masters in Social Work.  I was in my 40s then.

I understand your feeling like a prisoner.  If you can, try to find some sort of outlet for all four of you.  Go to a park and walk.  Find a nature center and go exploring.  Find out when story hour at the public library is.  Slowly, you will begin to feel some sense of calm about your current situation.  They will not be little forever, though it seems that way at times. 

If they are old enough, see if they and you qualify for the Headstart program.  It is a government subsidized preschool program.  If you do, you might then have the opportunity to return to school, even if it is part time.  Also, a lot of colleges provide daycare at a somewhat reasonable rate.  My youngest attended one when I was in college.  He and I walked across campus together all the time.  It was neat.

Feel free to PM me if you ever need to cry or just want to talk.

Hugs,
trish