I am going to tear my family apart!

guenevyre
on 5/5/06 11:35 am - Hamilton, ON
Hello, To make a long story short, I was raped by my brother for about 6 years from the age of 5-11. My parents have known for 10 years, but have done nothing--they still function as if nothing is wrong. And me? I stuff myself with food and cut my arms to make the pain go away. I was recently put in a mental hospital for a week to stabilize my meds. So, we had a family meeting (mom, dad, my husband) and after that my psych said that she may have to phone Childrens Aid society on my brother, because he has a daughter who is 6 and 2 younger boys. My neice is precious to me--if anything happenned to her I would die...the guilt! So I called Childrens Aid myself (anonymously) and asked about my situation...the woman said, yes, it is the doctor's professional duty to report. I do understand this, as I have had to report (I am a teacher and I see this stuff all the time--too often ) But I can't imagine what my sister-in-law will do (obviously she does not know) or how the Children's Aid will go about this. Everyone will know--my 88 year old grandma--yuck! It is all just so yucky. I feel sick and terrible and it's on my mind constantly. I am also waiting to be approved for WLS so we will see what happens. Maybe they will deny me because I am crazy! I am angry that this happenned to me. I deserve a better life! Gwen.
(deactivated member)
on 5/10/06 1:59 am
Gwen, I am so sorry that you're going through this but let me say one thing.... your niece needs to be removed from a potentially dangerous situation. Men like your brother don't stop - ever. Shame on your parents too!! Stop thinking about what everyone will think too.... you have nothing to be ashamed of. Good Luck! Vanessa
Dani96
on 5/14/06 12:53 am - Fallbrook, CA