Trouble with smoking pot and ciagrettes

(deactivated member)
on 1/23/06 4:33 am - san antonio, TX
Hey everybody. I first just wanted to commend everyone on this board for being honest about your struggles...helps me feel like i'm not the only one. I've been smoking pot off and on since the spring of 2004, as well as with ciagrettes...but since the summer of 2000. I was banded on the sixth of this month and started smoking pot again about a week post op, and haven't had any trouble what so ever controling my "munchines" or over eating. (Some caffiene free ice tea or a sugar free popsicle is fine for me now, as opposed to the old me who would of woofed down a chicken fried steak and fries easily while stoned.) My question is this though...will smoking pot and ciagrettes while being banded contribute to my band eroding? I've healed rather quickly and been loosing a lot. I was 324 before the pre op diet, which was the atkins induction phase, made it to 312 the day of the surgery, and am now around 283. I had a minor episode the first week were I took in too much broth and had trouble keeping water down, but I suspect that was because i'm used to gulping down 64 ounces of soda at a time. (No, I wasn't high at the time.) I was given a steroid shot which helped my swelling go down and i'm able to now eat small amounts of refried beans with cheese, grits, pudding, and a few egg whites...although I'm still getting full on liquids quickly as well. Any comments or answers to my question would be greatly appreciated. Take Care.
Lauretta
on 1/24/06 3:48 pm - Fort Walton Beach, FL