Bingers/Bulemics

Brittany V.
on 2/13/05 12:35 pm - Westfield, NJ
Lap Band on 04/01/05 with
Hey yall, I'm gettin my surgery April 1st. I was wondering if this was a good idea for binger eaters/bulemics. I have spent a lot of time in recovery including impatient, but im afraid that the surgery wont help. I dont know. Anways if you have anything to say please do so!
susan17821
on 2/21/05 6:45 pm - Danville, PA
Revision on 06/18/12
Good question Brittany.. I am curious too. what type of surgery are you having? Susan
Nonie M.
on 2/28/05 8:19 am - Vass, NC
Hi Brittany, You've taken the biggest step and realized that you have a problem and started to deal with it. Good for you! I had my surgery 5 years ago today. As a registered nurse I thought I knew everything I needed to know to make my surgery a success. I met with a psychologist pre-op and found out later that he was reluctant to approve my surgery because of my emotional eating habit. 18 months post-op, I had lost 150 lbs and felt the best I've felt in my life. But when the "honeymoon period" ended, (that's the period of time post-op when you're losing rapidly, feeling on top of the world and people are constantly giving you praise and encouragement), and real life started flooding in again with all the old problems, I started eating again like before surgery. Now, 5 years post-op I have gained 60 lbs back and I'm struggling with self-hate, trying frantically to find a way to lose what I've gained. I'm still glad that I had the surgery. I weigh much less than I did, but my advice to you is this.........find a therapist that you trust and work hard with them. Decide with your therapist if you should stick with the April 1st surgery date. If you go ahead on the 1st, don't stop therapy when you start losing. Work with the therapist as long as it takes to conquer your demons or at least corral them so that you can control them. I am by no means trying to discourage you from having the surgery. It's still the best thing