Worried...

lacey8302
on 8/4/11 11:24 pm
Hey everyone!  I am new to all of this, so here's a little background info: I started seeing my surgeon about 3 months ago and was put on the pre-op diet for 6 months (because of my insurance requirements).  So far, I've lost about 42 pounds! Yay! Everything is going well, but I still need to have my psychiatric evaluation sometime within the next 3 months. I'm putting it off because I have suffered from depression for many years now. I have been doing great for the past 6 years! No problems at all!  However, six years ago I went through some major things and just had a breakdown and was hospitalized in a psychiatric hospital for about 5 days.  It was voluntary, so I think that makes it a little better. Anyway, on the doctor's report when I was discharged, one of the main reasons listed for my visit was morbid obesity.  I think it all points to why I *should* have surgery, but I just worry that it will prevent me from being approved for it because all doctors see is that I've been hospitalized.  I know I can't lie on the evaluation because if I did, it might ruin my chances altogether.  Does anyone know someone who's been in this situation before?  I just need some encouragement and maybe some tips at how to handle it.  Thanks a lot!!!
Chaya18
on 8/5/11 7:39 am
Hi,
  I was in exactly the same boat as you are in right now.  I had planned on having my surgery last year.  But because I had had a hospitalization in 2009 for a medication change I was told that I had to wait.

I was told the cut-off is one year. I was frustrated because it was a med change due to an allergic reaction and I didn't really think they should count that but those are the rules.

However, another year has passed, no hospitalization and now my surgery is scheduled for two weeks from now. So it all kind of worked out it just took longer than I thought.