Bipolar???

kayleesmommy2007
on 12/8/09 1:13 am
Hello everybody!!!

My name is Jessica and I am a newbie!  :-)

I am scheduled to have an RNY at the end of December.  I have completed all my pre-opt testing, but today I had my last "bump" in the road.  I had a psyc meeting, and after spending almost 2 hours with the lady, she stated that I have a very mild form of Bipolar. 

I am like in shock I guess you could say!  I always new that I had anxiety, but bipolar?  WOW.  I don't know what to think or feel, nor did she explain any more information.

She just told me to schedule another apt with her next week,  (But she did say that this should not keep me from having my surgery).

Is there anybody out there with bipolar disorder, and can give me some details, or more information 1st hand? 

I have read a little bit online, and ordered a few books, but I am just concerned...

Thanks in advance!!!
Jessica

"Life is to short, so make a decision and give it 110%"

Lalocaweta
on 12/8/09 8:32 am - Spicewood, TX
I am Bipolar - I am NOT a mild form - I have very severe cycling (the moving from manic to depressive stages on a frequent basis).
It took about 7 years to get an accurate diagnosis of my disorder. Bipolar is a chemical imbalance in the brain - it is nothing that is contagious, nothing that you "caught", nothing that you did wrong, etc. It can be treated with drugs.
I am on Effexor and Depakote and have been for about 6 months - and the drugs are working great.
The only thing I will add is that people w/ Bipolar tend to also have addictive personalities, and you need to keep that in mind after you have your RNY as if you have addictive personality and can no longer use food as an addictive substance, you may turn to some other things.
"Patriots always talk of dying for their country but never of killing for their country." - Bertrand Russell
kayleesmommy2007
on 12/8/09 2:06 pm