agoraphobia?

Georgina R.
on 3/6/09 6:43 am - Bakersfield, CA
Hi everybody, this is my first time posting on this board but I'm definitely a veteran to mental health issues.

My therapist suggested recently that I might have agoraphobia.  I've been afraid to leave the house for a few months and it's gotten progressively worse the past few weeks.  I can only go outside when I'm with my fiance, and then it is only to places that aren't crowded, feel safe, and have an immediately available escape route.

I was wondering if anybody has experience with this and could give me some advice.  I'd appreciate any.

Thanks.  :)
Patricia R.
on 3/6/09 11:17 am - Perry, MI
I do not have a lot of experience with it, but did treat a client with it once.  She had been a teller in a bank and was held up at gunpoint.  After the assault, she developed such a fear of leaving her apartment, she could not function very well at all.  I had been helping her to take baby steps in going out to small stores during off hours, when they would not be crowded.  She was progressing well, till one day her boyfriend forced her to go to a huge shopping mall and she completely decompensated.

My suggestion is two fold.  First, keep a journal of your thinking when you go out, and come home.  What thoughts went with your fear while you were out?  What were you afraid of while you were out?  Second, take baby steps, and try to take them daily.  If you need to have someone with you when you go out, that is okay.  Even if you just take a walk to the corner of your street one day, just getting out will help you.  The more you stay home, the stronger your fear becomes. 

Take your journal to therapy with you so you can discuss your thinking that goes with your feelings when you are out.  This will help your therapist help you.  I journal a lot and share it with my therapist, and is has helped me make tremendous progress in my overall recovery from my issues.

Trish