Bi Polar more intensive since WLS?

CyndiSanDiego
on 1/12/09 6:53 am
I am going through one of the hardest cycles I have ever been in. Very extreme...racing thoughts...mood swings...not sleeping...or then never feeling like I've had enough sleep.
I had my RNY April 1, 2008....is this to be expected so far out?

Any information is appreciated.

On meds faithfully.... Pristiq, AmbienCR and Lamictal
Cheri H.
on 1/12/09 11:22 am - Brampton, Canada
I'm pre op so I have no experience, but because of my history I've looked at how my meds would be effected with surgery. Because of the mal absobtion component your meds may need to be adjusted to account for your new inner workings. I would definately contact your psychiatrist to start adjusting your meds.

Good luck!
Cheri                                                                                                              I the DS!

I had the Duodenal Switch!  Do yourself a favour and check out www.dsfacts.com - especially if your BMI is over 50!

HW: 426/SW: 421/CW: 165/ GW: 150           Current BMI is 26.6!         
Patricia R.
on 1/14/09 12:10 pm - Perry, MI
I am just realizing that my relapses with alcohol might be attributed to my bipolar being off since my surgery.  It just never occurred to me that malabsorption might be part of my problem.  I need to discuss this with my psychiatrist.

Malabsorption issues are part of that problem with bypass surgery patients.  That is why the need for vitamins and minerals and I get B12 shots because of it.

Talking to your psychiatrist is the best route to take.

Trish
Seek always to do some good, somewhere. Every man has to seek in his own way to realize his true worth. You must give some time to your fellow man. For remember, you don't live in a world all your own. Your brothers are here too.
Albert Schweitzer

Corgi Mom !.
on 1/14/09 7:40 pm - sunny, FL
this was posted on Rny board by puggy dawn

Post Date: 12/17/08 2:36 pm