Addictions: All of them

blueskiesagain
on 12/14/08 8:23 pm - Birmingham, AL

I am new to this WLS site; and pleased to find that it has an addiction forum.  I will try to give a quick run down; and I look forward to hearing from any/all of you.

I was sexually abused as an infant until age 26 by grandfather, uncle, brother in law, preachers (2), deacons, (2).  I also was physically, mentally and spiritually abused by my immediate family members.  I packed on weight as the years went by.  I tried to act "tough"; masculine so that no one would mess with me.  I dont have the pleasure of not remembering.  I remember everytime my grandfather had a pedipholia orgie.  Yes, there were many of us at one time.  Strange goings-on.  Penetration with all sorts of inantimate objects...yada, yada.  You get the pic. 
Physically sucked up into a F-5 tornado and lived to tell about it.  Saw the world from the sky as I was free spinning but escaped with only minor injuries (the family was not so lucky, but no deaths).
Had WLS 2004 RNY, lost 125 lbs, gained 80 back from food addiction, alcohol addiction, nacrcotic/sedative addiction.  These addictions presented themselves after I was gang raped by too many men to count. 
Next came treatment, recovery, therapy, and a life-long process.  I have clean for 2.5 yrs, and work at it daily.  I have a wonderful therapist now (have had many years of useless therapy before her).  I have been seeing her for the 2.5 years and was able to almost cry the other day for the first time.  I think that is great progress.  My wall is so thick and high it scares me sometimes.  I am 41, never married (engaged 5 times), no children.  I think all of these addictions and my isolation is directly related to my early trauma.  I work on the serenity daily, and some days are more successful, but I always learn. 

I am looking into revisional DS for the RNY.  Will see how it goes.