If You've Tried Overeater's Annon...

ColoradoHusker
on 11/21/08 8:30 am - Colorado Springs, CO

If you have attend OA meetings (or currently attending) - how is/was your WLS "accepted" in your group?  If a "special focus" meeting was available for all weight-loss surgery people (the meeting still open to ALL people who wish to stop eating compulsively, but a focus on WLS, just like they have meeting with special focus on gay/lesibian, 100 pounders, aneroxic, etc.) would you be interested?

My story: I've been attending OA for 5 years.  I had RNY on 12/17/07 and have since lost 178 lbs.  I still attend OA.  However, my experience with other OA's reactions have been mixed, at best.  I've been told a lot of the same things we all hear: I took the easy way out; I'm not doing it the 'right' way, i.e. the OA(?) way; Of course you're losing weight - you mutilated your guts and are starving yourself!; and the most hurtful (to me) that I should never be a sponser as I have nothing to offer because I had surgery.  Others have reached out to learn more about WLS and to offer as much support as possible.  Sadly, I have heard of at least two people who came to OA after WLS and left OA because the other OA's couldn't relate to them.  One OA asked me how in the world can someone be full after 1/4 C of chicken and how can an extra bite make them sick? One oldtimer (whom I find very very offensive) said, "Her (the WLS OA) doctor told her not to eat more than 2 tablespoons of food at a time, 3 - 5 times a day - THAT'S NOT HEALTHY!!! You don't have to be a rocket scientist to know that doctor is obviously a QUACK!!!" I was stunned!  I asked the 'battle-axe' to please give my name and number to the WLS OA - call me anytime, day or night.  The battle-ax told me, "Too late - she and her huband moved out of state - her eating is just completely OUT OF CONTROL, she's gaining weight like there's no tomorrow!" Ack!!!