ReVia (similar to Antabuse)

Carrie Stockwell
on 11/17/08 9:11 am - Dublin, CA
Here goes....

I have been drinking a bottle (or more) of wine every night for almost 3 years. Sometimes, I really crave it. Sometimes, I just really enjoy the feeling. Other times, I do it out of boredom and habit.  I have gone at the most 3 days without drinking. Tonight I'm on night 2. I have no desire at the moment. No wine in house, so all is good.

Anyway, I have been researching medications to curb the craving. Has anyone taken ReVia? From my findings I would like to try it more so than Antabuse.

Any input would be great.

Thanks.
Patricia R.
on 11/17/08 10:53 am - Perry, MI
Hi and Welcome,
Have you ever tried AA, or therapy?  Alcoholism is more complex than just a pill can fix it.  It is a complex biopsychosocial disease.  All three components should be addressed to put it into remission.  A pill to curb cravings just takes care of the biology of the problem, it does not address the psychological disorder that is contributing to the drinking behaviors, or the social aspect of the disease.  Plus, for many in AA, and other recovery programs, there is a spiritual component to the disease and its recovery.

That said, I am not familiar with ReVia.  I have taken Naltrexone for my eating disorder, which has been used to help alcoholics. 

What has helped me in the past, and is currently helping me today, is that I just completed an Intensive Outpatient Program, individual psychotherapy, participation in Alcoholics Anonymous and accountability to a sponsor. 

Good luck,
Trish
Seek always to do some good, somewhere. Every man has to seek in his own way to realize his true worth. You must give some time to your fellow man. For remember, you don't live in a world all your own. Your brothers are here too.
Albert Schweitzer

Lalocaweta
on 11/17/08 10:45 pm - Spicewood, TX
Carrie - I have not heard of ReVia - so obviously not used it.