Alcoholism after the surgery

bernadette
on 7/18/08 5:50 am - Visalia, CA

I had gastric bypass on Oct. 19, 2006.  It has been a blessing from the very beginning: I had no complications, I healed quickly, I eat a very healthful diet and LIKE it, I have been exercising consistently for almost a year and can run, weight lift, etc,  and I barely have any loose skin at all.  More importantly, I have a great job, a master's degree, and the confidence I once lacked.  I feel like Superwoman...except...

This is a very difficult post for me.  I have NEVER had a problem with alcohol pre-surgery.  I drank, but socially and could take or leave it without issue.  About 3  months after I had the sugery, I discovered I could drink a little wine without any bad effects.  Since my 3-month point, I have discovered that I can't stop drinking once I start.  In essence, if I allow myself to, I would drink an entire bottle of wine every night until I pass out.   I don't like other alcohol - just white wine.

Luckily,  because I know I have a problem, I just don't START drinking during the week at all because I know I can't have just one.  I keep any drinking I do to weekends only. So far, I have no physical dependence on wine.  However, just like I used to feel when I was "dieting", now I feel that way about alcohol.  If it's Thursday, then I'm like, "Tomorrow, I can buy a bottle of wine."  In essence, I think about it like I used to think about food days before I ate a meal.  I thought this would ease once I started eating more.  I know about transfer addiction and I know that I've replaced food with wine.  But, I can eat almost normal meals now, and still I crave wine.