Is it bulimia...

nolakm
on 5/12/08 11:58 am - Vancouver, WA
...if I only use laxatives?  Today I had my first binge, I guess you could say, since my surgery.   I feel terrible...physically and mentally.  All I want to do is go take a bunch of stool softeners to make me poop.  I hate myself when I do this and I honestly don't know why I did.  I have used laxatives (now stool softeners) since my early twenties.  I am now 42.  At one point I did go for help but in my typical fashion gave up when it got to deep. I AM SCARED!  I have lost almost 80 lbs.  I do not want to screw this surgery up.  I don't want to fail again. Nola

RHONDA FROM KY
on 5/12/08 8:23 pm - ALEXANDRIA, KY
Hello.. I was reading your post.. and didn't want to just back out and not say HI I personally don't know the answer to your question.  I have no experience in food disorders other than my typical overeating to where I was MO therefore needing WLS. I would say that if you had a past history of using and seeing someone for "help" then this is carrying over and can lead to something you may not want in your life.  I would talk to you surgeon.  They are oh so wise in everything.. and experience many things.. and I'm sure would not be surprised at what you tell them.  I'm sure they would be able to help.   Hope to see you here more often.. take care and have a wonderful day

It is good to have an end to journey towards; but it is the journey that matters in the end.  ~Ursula K. LeGuin

marieh
on 5/12/08 9:58 pm - So. Easton, MA
Hi and welcome!!  I don't know if you've thought about this, but I see a counsellor once a week for my food triggers. I'm so glad my insurance company made it a stipulation that I continue. It's helped me in a big way. This might work for you as well.  If it's not something you'll consider now, keep posting here. This is a great group of people. :) In a way, we're our own family! WELCOME!!  Marie

kdmox
on 5/13/08 12:35 am - Baltimore, MD