new here

cnunes54
on 1/18/08 1:54 am - Edison, NJ
This is my first time posting on here and my first time really, honestly admitting this.  So here it goes. I had my RNY 9/06 and before I had it I had a drinking problem.  But having the surgery "forced"(so I thought) me to stop drinking.  But that only lasted a few months.  As soon as I was eating regular foods, my drinking started again.  Slowly it crept back into my life and now it's smacking me in the face!  Especially since now I have a few drinks, like 4 or 5, and I'm completely off my chair.  Where as before, it took 10 or 12.  I just feel like there are certain days where I do not want to deal with the situations at hand.  And those are the days I drink. I just got into trouble, yet again, because of it.  I'm only 23 and I feel like if I dont do something NOW, I'm really gonna destroy my life.  I would really like someone to talk t about this. Anyone experiencing a similar situation? Can anyone sort-of point me in the "right" direction as to the steps I need to take to get some help? Crystal N. 358/335/201
pokeybooth
on 1/18/08 3:15 am - bossier city, LA

Crystal, I have not taken up the drink since surgery but I am a alcholic with 4 1/2 years of sobriety. I tried everything under the sun to get sober and they all failed until I was sent to A.A. I found my place in life there. You admitting that you have a problem is a big step in recovery. At 23 I couldn't admit my fault in any situation(how vain i was). Fortunatly, my 2nd. outpatient rehab forced me to attend A.A. Once I started to work the program I realized that not admitting my many faults keep me drunk for many years.

Today I have a life that is simply wonderful. I have the ability to face the problems that I used to get drunk over. I know if I take a drink today I will be right back where I was 4 1/2 years ago. This disease progresses even when we are not drinking.