Long-Time Lurker, First-Time Poster - Topamax

meloh
on 1/14/08 3:52 am - MN

I've been dealing with alcohol issues for about a year now. I never had a problem with it before surgery. I have been working with a therapist for about 8 months now which has really helped me.

I’ve been had a lot of problems with migraines for the past few years that have been getting worse and worse, so my doctor put be on Topamax, which is a daily preventative medication. I did some research online and found that one of the side effects can be that it helps with alcohol cravings. I’ve been on this for 6 weeks now. I have not had a craving for alcohol in about 3 weeks. (I also have not had a migraine in this time).

I’m not saying this is a miracle drug or anything, I just thought it was interesting how it’s working. Maybe it won’t last, but I’m enjoying it for now.

Melanie

marieh
on 1/14/08 4:37 am - So. Easton, MA
Hi Melanie! Welcome and nice to 'meet' you! I've seen some commercials recently for new meds that treat one thing but are advertised that they help with alcohol cravings. Where was this thing 22 years ago? :) I'm glad you've found something that works for BOTH issues! My husband suffers from chronic "cluster" migraines. I'll have to tell him about this medicine to see if this might work for him too!  Thanks for the info and keep posting! Marie

meloh
on 1/23/08 10:31 pm - MN
Thank you for the welcome! It's still working great for me. The first couple of weeks the Topamax makes you feel kind of crappy while your body gets used to it, but then it's fine. It such a relief not to have the headaches. If it works for your husband, that would be great! Melanie
Patricia R.
on 1/14/08 10:41 pm - Perry, MI