New Here

Patricia R.
on 6/15/06 1:42 pm - Perry, MI
Hi everyone, I am new to the Addictions Message Board. I am also newly on the journey of WLS. I had my initial consultation on June 1. I found OH the following weekend. I have been hanging around in the Pennsylvania Forum since then. I am Trish and I am an alcoholic. My sobriety date is September 26, 2001. My first AA meeting was in October 1989. In addition to being a middle school teacher in Philadelphia, PA, I am also a therapist part time at a psychiatric hospital. I look forward to when I can practice social work full time. I look forward to getting to know you all better. Hugs, Trish
Lauretta
on 6/16/06 3:27 am - Fort Walton Beach, FL
Welcome Trish, We have a nice group of posters going here. I have been going to NA a little over 2 yr. Needed to do something after my wls!!!! If you have read the old posts it explains my journey. 12 steps are a marvelous tool to apply to your post op recovery. I personally can't separate the two in my journey. I like to think of my addictions to everything as my baggage and wls and 12 steps as the wheels that I strap onto it and take it along with me or I could carry the heavy bags on my back. Wheels are better. I hooe you hang around and post. It is alot more fun and helpful when people participate. Laurie
Patricia R.
on 6/16/06 11:51 am - Perry, MI
Hi Laurie, Thanks for the welcome. You are so right about the 12 steps being the answer to life in general. Since I started in AA and OA back in 1989, I have been incorporating all of the steps in my life in everything, as it says in the 12th step. I love going to AA meetings and seeing the newcomers and giving them hope. I also love working with recovering people in my two part time jobs. Great to be here. Trish
vickiang
on 6/16/06 1:12 pm - Austin, TX