Insurances starting to deny WLS!!!

Sally P.
on 3/26/05 2:40 am - Derry, NH
I live in NH and on my local news last night they were showing that some insurances in this area are starting to NOT approve WLS and the reasons were that they say it is not necessary. They were showing Portsmouth Hospital in particular and they did have an M.D. speaking and saying that this was denying the morbidly obese patients access to treatment that could literally save their lives. This does concern me greatly as I am just beginning my "journey". I have Harvard Pilgrim and will probably have my surgery at Mass General. I have gotten postiive feedback on this forum about that insurance. Since MGH has informed me it may be months before I even get to see a surgeon which displeases me greatly, I just hope by then Harvard Pilgrim has not joined the ranks of the insurance companies that are now denying this surgery.
MAURA F.
on 3/26/05 3:04 am - WEST ROXBURY, MA
I have Harvard Pilgrim too. I was denied at first due to not all my info being send in, but once it was I was approved within a week or so. I am happy with them and with my choice in Hospitals, Brigham and Womens. Good Luck !
Caeli B.
on 3/26/05 3:25 am - Boston, MA
If you are truly concerned about HP denying coverage by the time you are ready for surgery, you may want to look into hospitals that have shorter waiting times. Just a thought.| Caeli
Julie H.
on 3/28/05 5:33 am - Georgetown, MA