Another year

Karen W.
on 11/29/04 1:10 am - Worcester, MA
Hello, Right now I'm pretty down because I found out I'm going to have to wait till next September for my surgery because I was hospitalized for depression recently. They want me to be stable for one year before the surgery, which I can understand. I know the risk of complications. It's just hard because I've been fighting for this for three years. I was hoping the wait was almost over. I'm going to be doing everything by the book for the next nine months and will be attending support groups at UMASS in Worcester every month. Any words of encouragement would be appreciated. Thanks, Karen
NoSurrender
on 11/29/04 4:08 am - Oxford, MA
Karen, Take heart dear. The medical folks at UMass are only looking out for your safety. Trust that they know what they are doing, because they do. My surgeon is Dr. Czerniach too, and I think he's just marvelous. I saw Dr. Sharenow in behavioral med, and she's also wonderful. I know the waiting is difficult, but let me assure you, it's worth the wait. Just be thankful you're not dealing with insurance deadlines and the possibility that your insurance won't cover you next year (I'm reading a lot about that on the main message board). It is going to happen for you. Just be patient, and keep following the rules. You will get there. MaryAlice
Marj G.
on 12/1/04 5:48 am - Plymouth, MA