MGH vs NEMC??

Donna D.
on 10/28/04 11:59 pm - Randolph, MA
Just have to clarify something for all of you. The "Center of Excellence" designation does have a standard that each hospital has to show & there is a whole application process but I can tell you with a lot of surity that not every hospital in the city wants to go through the process of getting this distinction because they feel it is more a money-making idea then anything really associated with quality of care. NEMC is getting it but MGH & BWH are rethinking it as is Faulkner & Newton-Wellesley. They all probably will because people like yourselves will be looking for that designation thinking it assures quality. It really doesn't. I know because I am a nurse in Quality. I had the surgery in other than any of the hospitals I am associated with for privacy issues so even that choice doesn't mean I think the quality is better one place versus another. My biggest thing when I was looking for a prigram was the comprehensive program that was multi-disciplinary. And pretty much they all have that. Just wanted to clarify definitions for you all, to keep you an informed consumer. Donna -65
Richard
on 10/29/04 3:54 am - MA
Revision on 01/06/14
Donna I agree that the designation doesn't guarantee quality. But it can go a long way to keep people away from problem surgeons and hospitals. WLS is a cash cow right now. Surgeons with minimal training and experience are losing patients. All hospitals don't have the standards and oversite we take for granted in Boston. Read this article on surgeon experience. It indicates a 5% mortality rate for inexperienced weigh loss surgeons. http://www.pslgroup.com/dg/23dfca.htm
cinnponce
on 10/23/04 6:43 am - Seminole, FL