Family Support

(deactivated member)
on 10/22/04 10:32 am - MA
Hi! Posting again....as I said earlier, I'm a student at BC and I'm looking into WLS. I'm considering surgery but my family is against it - they do NOT want me to have this surgery because they're worried about risks and see it as an "easy way out". They're urging me to give dieting just one more chance and they think that I can lose the weight without surgery. I have doubts about this but considering that I still have reservations about surgery, I don't know what to say to them. I'm really starting to see surgery as the best option for me because it's my best shot at significant, permanent weight loss. Any suggestions on what to say/do? Thanks! ~Jen
Liz F.
on 10/22/04 11:09 am - West Quincy, MA
#1 - ask them what they think is so EASY about this surgery... because it is anything BUT easy Liz -48
Liz F.
on 10/22/04 11:13 am - West Quincy, MA
Everyone around me was against the surgery too, but they have all "come around" now - you need to do what is right for YOU, hun - no one else Liz -48
Luann S.
on 10/22/04 2:42 pm - Randolph, MA