newbie to the MA board

suzend
on 10/13/04 12:19 am - Groton, MA
Hello everyone , I'm looking for ppl who are having surgery or are post-op to help me with my research in WLS, surgeons, and hospitals. I bascially want to hear your story. The ups and downs of deciding to have this surgery, your research, how you decided on your surgeon and hospital. What kind of insurance you had and did you have problems getting approval? I started researching WLS about a month ago. I'm 5'4" and weigh 290. Been on every and any diet imaginable. Overweight since I was about 8 yrs old. I'm sure you've heard it all before. Again, I would love to hear from you. If you have a chance, please drop me a line. I sound desperate dont I? That's because I am.....I'm tired of being out of breath, not be able to move, having to manuver to get dressed....just plain tired of being unhealthy. Thanks, Suzen
Krista B.
on 10/13/04 12:37 am - Leominster, MA
Hi Suzen, I am a newbie also. I have been researching WLS for the past 4 years. Last month my PCP finally asked me about my weight, what I've done, and if I've thought about WLS. I told him to give me the referral because I am ready, and if I don't do it now I will most likely die from my weight. I am 5'9" and over 350. (i don't know exact weight because dr's scale only goes to 350). I've done the most of my research through this website. I have BCBS-HMO Mass, I am attending the UMASS Medical Weight Loss Center in Worcester for the program. I am attending the orientation meeting tonight so hopefully I will learn alot more tonight. Krista
cinnponce
on 10/13/04 1:02 am - Seminole, FL