I'm starting to freak out

Carol T.
on 4/13/04 7:28 am - Lawrence, MA
I am new to this support area, so I just wanted to introduce myself. I am scheduled for surgery 5/14/04, which seemed so far away when this all started. Now I find myself getting more and more anxious and nervous..is this normal? I researched this all before anything was scheduled, but now that it really is scheduled the more I read and the closer it gets the more freaked out I am becoming. Just need to know this is normal? Thanks Carol
Helen F.
on 4/13/04 8:14 am - Quincy, MA
It's totally normal, and really just means that you truly understand that their are some risks associated with WLS. I think if someone could just sail into the OR without a care in the world, their understanding of the process and changes that will take place in their life would not be at all realistic. I was totally committed to having the surgery, couldn't wait - then, about a week before, kept getting more & more nervous. It really took a lot of courage to go in that morning - but it was the best thing I ever did!! I'm so happy I could finally do something that would help me lose the weight, and keep it off, which has ruled my life for so long. I'm only 4 months out, but so many changes already - I have cheekbones! And collarbones!! Who knew? I can cross my legs... and walk up stairs...and (almost) wear a size 14!! did I mention I'm wearing a pretty blue bra?? Wow! Anyway, best of luck to you with your journey. After surgery (the next day or so), don't be surprised if you get the "oh, my God, what have I done?" reaction - that's common, too. Once the pounds start coming off, it'll all be worth it. Helen 263/184/145
sharons_ma
on 4/13/04 9:13 am - Boston, MA
Congratulations on your success, Helen! This is going to sound weird, but I envy you your "pretty blue bra". Is there a conspiracy where by all "plus" sized bras are white and ugly? I'm planning on running up a large bill at Vicky's Secret when I meet goal!
Carol T.