Cravings

Jason B.
on 4/7/04 1:40 pm
So I am just starting out on my weight loss journey. I guess i'm worried because I am a snacker. Anything will do when I need a fix. I don't believe that I will be able to control them after surgery. I'm afraid I'll gain the weight back and also hurt my pouch by extra snacking. Now I'm not talking about totally pigging out just grabbing something until the desire goes away. Which is what I do now. After the surgery do the cravings go away? I've tried before to find other things to do besides eat but that seems to be the only thing to releave the craving. Did you struggle with this? What did you do to get over this?
hope4life
on 4/7/04 9:26 pm - W. Bridgewater, MA
Hi Jason! I haven't had the surgery....YET, but from what I have heard and read and such, you will probably lose your appetite in the beginning. I have heard that alot of people actully lose their taste for all of the "goodies" and "snacks" that they used to enjoy. I am NO expert by any means and this is only info from what I have "heard". I am a chocoholic. BIG TIME! I do love my carbonated drinks too. That is my fear as well, so you are not alone in this feeling. I was also told that once you get the sugars out of your system, you'll stop craving them. I don't hardly ever use salt so I guess that is a plus but again, I have not had the surgery and only going by what I have heard and from others experiences. I know I am not much help but I wanted to give you some input and to let you know that you are not alone. Erin
Jason B.
on 4/7/04 9:38 pm
You were a lot of help! I know from doing Atkins that you don't crave anything once you stop eating carbs. But I want to include some carbs. So I'm a little scared that I will gain the weight back. Or not lose any at all.
DJJCHARRIS
on 4/8/04 10:32 am - Winchendon, MA