New in town..... looking for advice

Chipples5
on 10/8/11 4:21 am
Hello there!

I am new to the site. I have been trying to do as much research as possible because I want to have gastric bypass surgery. I am 29 years old and I am determined to be in better health before my 30th birthday next September. I am 5'2" and weigh a whopping 275lbs. My bones and joints hurt and I feel like if something doesn't change I am going to die. I have been doing Weigh****chers on and off for two years and I go to the gym 3 times a week. However, I only walk on the treadmill and that alone kills me. In the two years though I have managed to take off 57lbs. I work 3 jobs and have little free time. I clearly need a lifestyle change.

I currently do NOT have health insurance. I do however qualify through the Mass Health Connector for plans. I just don't know which one to sign up for now. I'm looking for advice on health plans. What health plans do people here have that have had luck with approval for the surgery? Can anyone tell me about their experiences? Also, which doctors do you recommend? I used to see a PCP out of Newton-Wellesley when I did have health insurance back in 2009 and I was thinking about seeking out a surgeon there but these days the best care could be elsewhere. I have a week to choose my plan and I will be calling them to get more information but it sometimes really helps to talk to real people who have been through it already.

All of your stories that I have read are extremely inspiring so I have joined to get more one on one advice!

Thanks
Sue M.
on 10/8/11 7:19 am - Nantucket, MA
I'm sorry I don't anything about the health plan stuff - I have mine through my job.

I did get my surgery through Newton Wellesley though, and was (and continue to be) THRILLED with the care.  The office staff, the surgeons, the nurses on the surgical floor post-op were all awesome.

Good luck!
Read my blog, BARIATHLETE   I run because I can.