Yikes...Its really happening...

ckoneonly1
on 11/16/10 11:00 am
 Hi Everyone!  This is my fist post.. but I've been creeping on the site for a few months now.  My name is Cate, I'm 28 and I live on the South Shore of  Boston.  I am pre-op RNY Gastric Bypass, surgery scheduled for 12/09... I go for my pre-op appt with the anesthesiologist and then with my surgeon.  I started this whole process on Aug 3rd, 2010 and things have been moving SOOOO fast.  I'm not complaining but starting to blackout with the reality of everything.  I started at 286 and now weigh about 246.  I'm wondering how to survive the pre-op diet (figures I start the pre-op diet the day before Thanksgiving...), my doc says 4-5 protein shakes, 1 meal of lean protein & veggies.  What protein powder got you thru this pre-op process? 
Any advice/tips you can give would be sooo greatly appreciated!
Thanks again! :)
RedSox15
on 11/17/10 3:06 am - MA
Hi Cate! 

Welcome to the MA board ...... GREAT bunch of gals here!  The pre-op diet is the worst!  Luckily I did not have a strict one (such as liquids only) but they wanted me to start focusing on my protein first and low fat/low sugar.  I found out it wasnt so bad and it helped me prepare for after my surgery!  I also started out at 286 and was 253 the day of surgery.  Dec 9th will be here before you know it! 

Doctor up your protein shakes - that is the best advice I can give you!  Add fresh fruit, frozen fruit, jello pudding flavors (will help to thicken them up to be more like a milkshake), peanut butter and sugar free syrups!  Since I add a ton of stuff to my shakes I dont go all out when I buy my protein powder (why spend the money when I wont be tasting the powder!  lol)

I buy the small tubs of Pure Protein powder from Market Basket (when I dare step foot in there lol) and add the above stuff... this is my fav shake recipe:

Neopolitian Protein Shake
1 cup fat free milk
1 scoop vanilla protein powder