I'm a newbie! Just met with my surgeon

robyngar
on 11/5/10 9:31 am
Hello all, my name is Robyn and I'm a nnneewwwbbbiiieeee!  Have only gone as far as going to the seminar and meeting with my surgeon.  Although he explained pretty much what the surgery would entail, I'm a little concerned about afterwards!  I would like to get the sleeve but it's currently not accepted by my insurance company (Tufts) so I will go with the bypass (unless they can get Tufts to cover the sleeve) my surgeon said maybe by the time I'm ready for surgery they will have it covered.  Anyhow, if I do have to go with the bypass, are there foods that I will never be able to eat again?  Will I still be able to have a beer or two during the summer?  If there's anyone out there that can tell me some of what to expect post surgery, I'd greatly appreciate it!! 
RedSox15
on 11/5/10 12:30 pm, edited 11/5/10 12:31 pm - MA
Hey Robyn!

Welcome to the MA board ... GREAT group of people here .. don't be afraid to ask for advice Best of luck with your surgery.

As far as foods, no there is no food you won't be able to eat. Being able to tolerate certain foods might be a different story. Some people have a hard time tolerating meats, breads, sweets or other various foods.
Some people are bothered by sugar and fat content and therefore they can dump. However, the majority of patients DO NOT dump and have no issues with food tolerances (like me.) Other people can have many restrictions and issues. Each individual is different.